MUGSS 1975

The Pirates of Penzance


Major General Stanley
Ian Hamilton
The Pirate King
Gordon Webb
Nigel Stock
Andrew Summers
Sergeant of Police
Maurice White
Deborah Vallance
Susan Johnson
Pamela Searle
Elizabeth Hate
Liz Chapman
Chorus of Pirates and Policemen
Richard Bates, Graham Bent, John Fryatt, Nicholas Gibbs, Mike Harris, John Humphreys, Martin Kavanagh, Keith Le Flem, Godfrey Lomas, Stephen Moore, Colin Price, Barry Purves, Andrew Richards, Anthony Royle, Rob Semensx, Jim Symcox, Hugh Thornton, Ian Turner
Chorus of General Stanley's Daughters
Hilary Bastow, Sarah Beare, Catherine Beck, Fiona Bryson, Rosemary Butterfield, Marie Casey, Angela Cowle, Christine Fenn, Carole Higgins, Deborah Jones, Elizabeth Kellre, Tamara Lepp, Cheryl Litranta, Nancy Lofting, Marion Lumb, Maeve McHugh, Patricia Needham, Christina Rocca, Angela Rogers, Marion Thompson, Ann Shaw, Alison Smith, Valerie Swift, Cora-Louise Walker, Kathy Williamson


John Humphreys
Musical Director
John E. Bethell
Stage Manager
Paul Robinson
Lighting Designer
Alan Wagstaff
Lighting Manager
Alan Carlisle
Lighting Technician
James Currall
Wardrobe Supervisor
Anne E. Castle
Front of House Manager
David Littley
Assistant Stage Managers
Jane Walker, Lindsay Wynne, Alan Wagstaff
Orchestra Manager
Alan C. Carlisle
Ticket Secretary
Lester B. Finley
Publicity Manager
Nicholas Gibbs
Programme Photographs
Paul H. Robinson
Cover Design
Lindsay Wynne
Society Accompanists
David Littley, Mike Harris


Jane Walker
Colin Price
Deborah Jones
Publicity Officer
Nicholas Gibbs
Social Secretary
Marian Lumb
Ordinary Members
Richard Bates, John Humphreys



T. Willcock Icecreams


Costumes by S. B. Watts Ltd.

Chairman's Page

This year we are presenting "Pirates of Penzance" as part of a Festival organised by the University.. We have been fortunate to receive a larger grant than ususal from the Union without which it would have been impossible to present this show. Despite economic crises and soaring costs we have tried to maintain the high standard of previous productions. John Humphreys, one of our committee members, is our Producer and we once again welcome John Bethell as Musical Director.
Our backstage staff have been doing sterling work as usual and the society owes a considerable debt to those people who work hard for no reward. To them and to everyone who supports the society we offer grateful thanks.
My committee have been a great help to me and I would like to thank them for their efforts.
The society's aim has been to offer you an enjoyable show and we hope that you will go home thinking that we have succeeded.

Honorary Patrons

Baron Hailsham
The Lord Bishop of Manchester, The Rt. Rev. Patrick Campbell Rodger
Dr. Issac Asimov
Mr. Patrick Moore, O.B.E.
Mr. Stanford Robinson
Mr. Alexander Young


Complete recordings of this show (and all from 1964 onwards) can be purchased on CD from Mike Harris, our Society Archivist